March 3, 2018

Your action is needed NOW! BILLS ARE PENDING FOR STATEWIDE, ALL DAY SUNDAY HUNTING IN DEER SEASON.

ACTION ALERT!!!! READ, ACT, AND SHARE NOW!
ATTENTION ALL MARYLAND TRAIL RIDERS & LAND USERS

Your action is needed NOW! BILLS ARE PENDING FOR STATEWIDE, ALL DAY SUNDAY HUNTING IN DEER SEASON.

For almost 20 years, the Maryland Horse Council has worked aggressively to ensure fair use of shared natural resources during deer hunting season, by seeking to preserve Sundays as the one day of the week when hikers, birdwatchers, trail riders and other outdoor enthusiasts could enjoy the outdoors without concern for adverse interactions with hunters. 20 years ago, we successfully fought off various statewide Sunday hunting bills. Some of the recreational hunters changed tactics, going granular, county-by-county. Sometimes they were successful; most of the time, the rest of us were successful. When they were successful, they succeeded in making an already complicated situation more complicated, making it more difficult for others to plan their outings, and for Natural Resources Police to effectively crack down on poachers and irresponsible hunters, which has caused even more negative encounters between irresponsible hunters and other users. 

The Maryland Horse Council has proposed reasonable compromises that would still allow fair use of shared natural resources, by cutting off Sunday deer hunting, where allowed, at 10:30 am. This compromise still gives trail riders and others plenty of Sunday access to trails. This compromise has been embraced by some legislators, who have praised the Horse Council for this reasonable approach.

Now, once again, there is a statewide bill that does nothing to improve the situation for Natural Resources Police and continues to infringe on the fair rights of other users of our shared natural resources in Maryland. 

MHC is not anti-hunting, and many of our members are licensed hunters who support having fair use of shared natural resources during firearm season.

If having safe access to trails or open space on Sundays during hunting season is important to you, we need your help now! Please do one or more of the following:

1) Attend a Hearing

You don’t have to speak – just having your presence will make an impact, and we will make sure you are acknowledged. If you would like to speak, we will sign you up ahead of time (which is required), so please contact the chair of the MHC Legislative Committee, Jane Seigler, at 301-774-3756 or seigler.jane@gmail.com. Please note that the hearings start at 1 p.m. with numerous bills to be discussed. These bills may be heard immediately or not until later in the afternoon and sometimes not until early evening. We cannot predict.


HEARING ON HOUSE VERSION: HB 1338 INSERT LINK: http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx…

DATE: Wed. March 7 at 1 p.m.

LOCATION: House Environment & Transportation Committee INSERT LINK http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx…


HEAR ON SENATE VERSION: SB 817 INSERT LINK http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx…

DATE: Tues. March 13 at 1 p.m.

LOCATION: Senate Education, Health & Environment Affairs Committee INSERT LINK http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx…

2) Contact a Legislator

Your calls and emails to these Maryland legislators are critical to killing these bills! Let the legislators know that you are a voting Maryland resident (especially if you reside in their district). If you happen to have a hunting license, let them know that as well! Include your license number! Not all licensed hunters support this bill, so if you are one of them, let the elected officials know! Make sure your letter or email includes the bill number – and remember, this is not about anti-hunting; this is about fair use of shared natural resources!

House Environment & Transportation Committee - HB 1338

Kumar Barve, Chair, kumar.barve@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3990 

Dana Stein, Vice-Chair, dana.stein@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3527

Pamela Beidle pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3370

Alfred Carr alfred.carr@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3638

Andrew Cassilly Andrew.Cassilly@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3444

Jerry Clark jerry.clark@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3314

Bob Flanagan Bob.Flanagan@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3077

William Folden William.Folden@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3240

David Fraser Hidalgo david.fraser.hidalgo@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3186

Barbara Frush barbara.frush@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3114

Jim Gilchrist jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3744

Anne Healey anne.healey@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3961

Marvin Holmes marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3310

Jay Jacobs jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3449

Tony Knotts Tony.Knotts@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3212

Stephen Lafferty stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3487

Robbyn Lewis robbyn.lewis@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3772

Cory McCray cory.mccray@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3486

Herb McMillan herb.mcmillan@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3211

Charles Otto charles.otto@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3433

Shane Robinson shane.robinson@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3021

William Wivell william.wivell@house.state.md.us (410) 841-3447 


To easily send one email to entire committee, cut and paste email block below:

kumar.barve@house.state.md.us, dana.stein@house.state.md.us, pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us, alfred.carr@house.state.md.us, Andrew.Cassilly@house.state.md.us, jerry.clark@house.state.md.us, Bob.Flanagan@house.state.md.us, William.Folden@house.state.md.us, david.fraser.hidalgo@house.state.md.us, barbara.frush@house.state.md.us, jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us, anne.healey@house.state.md.us, marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us, jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us, stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us, robbyn.lewis@house.state.md.us, cory.mccray@house.state.md.us, herb.mcmillan@house.state.md.us, charles.otto@house.state.md.us, shane.robinson@house.state.md.us, william.wivell@house.state.md.us


Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee - SB 817

Joan Carter Conway, Chair, joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3145

Paul Pinsky, Vice-Chair, paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3155

Gail Bates, gail.bates@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3671

Cheryl Kagan, cheryl.kagan@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3671

Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, shirley.nathan.pulliam@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3612

Barbara Robinson, barbara.robinson@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3656

Johnny Ray Salling, Bill Sponsor johnnyray.salling@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3587 

Bryan Simonaire, bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3658

Stephen Waugh, steve.waugh@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3673

Ronald Young, ronald.young@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3575

Craig Zucker, craig.zucker@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3625


To easily send one email to entire committee, cut and paste email block below:

joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us; paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us; gail.bates@senate.state.md.us; cheryl.kagan@senate.state.md.us; shirley.nathan.pulliam@senate.state.md.us; barbara.robinson@senate.state.md.us; johnnyray.salling@senate.state.md.us; bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us; steve.waugh@senate.state.md.us; ronald.young@senate.state.md.us; craig.zucker@senate.state.md.us

Then please call and email your own County Delegates and Senators too and tell them to vote NO on HB 1338 and SB 0817! To find out who represents you in your County go to:

http://mdelect.net

3) Tell Others

Reach out to your riding associations and clubs, but also reach out to other users, such as hikers, bikers, bird watchers – we all need to support each other for fair use of shared resources!

State House | 100 State Circle | Annapolis, MD 21401-1925 410-946-5400 | 301-970-5400 | Toll-free in MD: 1-800-492-7122 ext. 5400
MGALEG.MARYLAND.GOV